GEEKS CROSSING

November 2, 2008

Mac vs. Mac

Filed under: Tech — darthryan @ 9:49 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My six-and-a-half year-old Mac finally started showing its age tonight.  While playing a DVD, importing a CD and chatting online my processors maxed out and caused applications to crash one by one.  First DVD Player then followed by iChat and iTunes.  When I purchased my Power Mac G4 MDD system it was practically the creme of the crop.  It sported dual 1.25 GHz G4 processors, 2 GB of RAM, a 64 MB Radeon 9000 graphics card, gigabit ethernet and Wi-Fi.  I even paired it with a 17″ LCD Apple Studio Display.  The MDD was able to handle everything I threw at it and got me through my web design/maintenance stint.  Over the years I’ve upgraded it with dual DVD burners, Bluetooth, SATA and USB 2.0 ports.  But alas, all that is now somewhat sub-standard even with today’s budget systems.

It’s time that I retire my MDD.  The question now becomes which system to get–an iMac or Mac Pro?  The iMac is a great value but the Mac Pro is uber-expandable.  I think I’ll have to delay my decision and purchase until after my trip to Macworld SF in January.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

